[RESOLVED] RPGM Force a save / Edit save to appear in different location

nyotas

Newbie
Aug 27, 2024
89
37
Hello!

So, i downloaded and played the game Sitaquest and wanted a save to get me to the gallery so i can just hop straight in to that. This is due to the gallery cheat being at the start of the game after the intro but before any save points (you cant save anywhere).

So i would like to ask how to force the game to save where i want OR how to edit the player location in a save so as to put me in the gallery room directly.

If at all possible, please no file changes that cannot be done with a text editor or an online decryptor/encryptor.

Thank you for your time.
 

Penumbral Evanescence

|☽◯☾| Somnium of the Night ✧ Bête Noire
Moderator
GFX Designer
Donor
Jul 16, 2021
3,161
10,911
how to edit the player location in a save so as to put me in the gallery room directly
Try the following script command to see if it might bear any fruit:

Code:
$gamePlayer.reserveTransfer(mapId, x, y, 2, 0);

Replace "mapId" with the map ID number

Replace "x" with the x coordinate (Number)

Replace "y" with the y coordinate (Number)
^ To execute the script in the console, first. The aforementioned plugin allows for various debug options (e.g., noclip and location change to be made in the save game file).

You will need to replace mapId with the map ID number of the gallery room I would presume, along with both the x/y coordinates as well. Albeit, not too sure where you might be able to find those variables :unsure: Perhaps somewhere in the game files I'd presume.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nyotas

nyotas

Newbie
Aug 27, 2024
89
37
Try the following script command to see if it might bear any fruit:

Code:
$gamePlayer.reserveTransfer(mapId, x, y, 2, 0);

Replace "mapId" with the map ID number

Replace "x" with the x coordinate (Number)

Replace "y" with the y coordinate (Number)
^ To execute the script in the console, first. The aforementioned plugin allows for various debug options (e.g., noclip and location change to be made in the save game file).

You will need to replace mapId with the map ID number of the gallery room I would presume, along with both the x/y coordinates as well. Albeit, not too sure where you might be able to find those variables :unsure: Perhaps somewhere in the game files I'd presume.
Thank you for the reply and solution. Unfortunately, neither situation is applicable here (at least i think so). There is no www folder like in some other games i've downloaded, nor is the exe big (its 138 kb). The unpacker mentioned in the cheat tool's readMe doesnt work ("Game doesnt use Enigmaor is hacked" error).

Are you aware of a way to directly edit the save file?
 

Insomnimaniac Games

Degenerate Handholder
Game Developer
May 25, 2017
3,820
6,826
Thank you for the reply and solution. Unfortunately, neither situation is applicable here (at least i think so). There is no www folder like in some other games i've downloaded, nor is the exe big (its 138 kb). The unpacker mentioned in the cheat tool's readMe doesnt work ("Game doesnt use Enigmaor is hacked" error).

Are you aware of a way to directly edit the save file?
That game is made in VX Ace, so it doesn't use plugins.

Make a save somewhere, go , upload your save, and on the left side go to 1 > @rb:attributes > map and change @map_id to whatever the gallery maps ID is. You might have to save in different locations depending on X/Y coordinates as you might be stuck in a wall.
 

nyotas

Newbie
Aug 27, 2024
89
37
That game is made in VX Ace, so it doesn't use plugins.

Make a save somewhere, go , upload your save, and on the left side go to 1 > @rb:attributes > map and change @map_id to whatever the gallery maps ID is. You might have to save in different locations depending on X/Y coordinates as you might be stuck in a wall.
Whilst incredibly useful (i will refer to this if i need to do similar stuff on other games), that also doesn't work. No matter how i change the map_id, it doesnt do anything. To clarify, as a last ditch attempt i changed every single map_id that search could find after going to 1 > rb:attribute > map, but it still didnt change anything. I spawn in the same map, same location. And the map_id is valid (my save 01 was map_id 3, and another at another map was 63). Changing either to the other did nothing, probably broke something but my character was not spawned in in another map.

Do you have any suggestions?

PS: thx for the VX Ace tip.
 

Insomnimaniac Games

Degenerate Handholder
Game Developer
May 25, 2017
3,820
6,826
Whilst incredibly useful (i will refer to this if i need to do similar stuff on other games), that also doesn't work. No matter how i change the map_id, it doesnt do anything. To clarify, as a last ditch attempt i changed every single map_id that search could find after going to 1 > rb:attribute > map, but it still didnt change anything. I spawn in the same map, same location. And the map_id is valid (my save 01 was map_id 3, and another at another map was 63). Changing either to the other did nothing, probably broke something but my character was not spawned in in another map.

Do you have any suggestions?

PS: thx for the VX Ace tip.
Huh, odd. I tested on the only VX Ace game I have installed, and it worked. Did you happen to enter the gallery at some point in the edited save? It's possible that could be the issue, as the save I tested I swapped to a map I'd entered before.

Other than that, the only two suggestion Involve decrypting the game. You don't want an online decrypter, but there is an offline one here. After that, you could go into the data folder and swap the map names between the one you saved in and the gallery map. The other suggestion is directly editing in RPGM itself.

OR, give me five minutes and I'll make you a save you can use. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: nyotas

nyotas

Newbie
Aug 27, 2024
89
37
Huh, odd. I tested on the only VX Ace game I have installed, and it worked. Did you happen to enter the gallery at some point in the edited save? It's possible that could be the issue, as the save I tested I swapped to a map I'd entered before.

Other than that, the only two suggestion Involve decrypting the game. You don't want an online decrypter, but there is an offline one here. After that, you could go into the data folder and swap the map names between the one you saved in and the gallery map. The other suggestion is directly editing in RPGM itself.

OR, give me five minutes and I'll make you a save you can use. ;)
I would assume it has nothing to do with the gallery since i tried switching map_id 3 and 63 (first map and some other map idr which one). Those should have worked, right?

A save that you know works, that i can use (and also just test) would be highly appreciated. Sorry for basically making you do it yourself.
 

Insomnimaniac Games

Degenerate Handholder
Game Developer
May 25, 2017
3,820
6,826
I would assume it has nothing to do with the gallery since i tried switching map_id 3 and 63 (first map and some other map idr which one). Those should have worked, right?
Gallery map ID was 30. I think 60 didn't work because it doesn't exist. The ID's skip from 44 to 62. Means the devs of the game deleted all the maps in-between.
Edit: Just saw you said 63. Yeah, no idea why it didn't work. :unsure:
A save that you know works, that i can use (and also just test) would be highly appreciated. Sorry for basically making you do it yourself.
Happy to help. Try this.
 

nyotas

Newbie
Aug 27, 2024
89
37
Can confirm it works.

I dunno why my attempts didnt work. I used map id 63 which i took by looking at a save from another map, a map i had reached and was playing in. At least, at the end i managed to impose on you for the actual work. Thank you very much.
 
  • Heart
Reactions: Insomnimaniac Games

Penumbral Evanescence

|☽◯☾| Somnium of the Night ✧ Bête Noire
Moderator
GFX Designer
Donor
Jul 16, 2021
3,161
10,911
Well, thanks Insomnimaniac Games :sneaky: - I am glad to see that the problem that the OP was having is fixed now (y)

Looks like pinpointing the correct gallery map ID was a little challenging at first and required some guess and check, but looks like all's well that ends better now :love:

nyotas - Now that your request has been resolved thanks to Insomnimaniac, I am moving this thread to the 'Solved' section as part of thread hygiene and upkeep. Thanks for reporting your problem, and feel free to create additional threads should you need help from the broader community on any troubleshooting issues you may have. Cheers.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Insomnimaniac Games